If you want to take your vehicle to France, you’ll need to get a Crit’air sticker. The certification categorizes vehicles depending on how much emissions they produce, helping to reduce air pollution. Certain vehicles may not be permitted access if they produce too many emissions. Every vehicle needs a Crit’air sticker, no matter if you’re a resident or visitor. 

So, how exactly do you get a Crit’air sticker? Continue reading below to see all sticker types, requirements, and which cities they’re needed in.

The certifications fall into six categories:

  • Green. Crit’air green stickers are given to fully electric vehicles or any car that doesn’t produce any emissions. 
  • Purple. Purple stickers are given to hybrid, Euro 5, and Euro 6 petrol vehicles.
  • Yellow. These stickers are given to Euro 4 petrol cars, and Euro 5 and 6 diesel automobiles.
  • Orange. The orange sticker is given to Euro 2 and Euro 3 petrol cars, and Euro 4 diesel vehicles.
  • Dark Red. This sticker is for Euro 3 diesel vehicles.
  • Dark Blue. Dark blue certificates are only for Euro 2 diesel vehicles.

Where To Get a Crit’air Sticker

Residents and visitors can get their Crit’air sticker directly from the Crit’air website. All applicants need is their vehicle registration certificate. The certificate itself is only €3.11 (plus postage and agency fee). However, it can take up to 6-weeks to obtain, so make sure you apply as early as possible. 

Which Cities Require a Crit’air Sticker?

Vehicles will need a Crit’air sticker if they plan to travel to Paris, Toulouse, Lille, Grenoble, Lyon, and Strasbourg. However, France is expecting to add more areas to the list in the next few years. Some cities only require the sticker during certain days and times, so be sure to check the cities local laws before setting off. 


Write A Comment