In an attempt to reduce vehicle emissions, France has enforced the requirement of Crit’air (clean air) stickers in some of its cities. Some cities completely restrict access to certain vehicles that create too much pollution. Crit’air stickers are required for both residents and visitors, and not having one can result in a pricey fine. 

Continue reading below to learn about the different types of Crit’air stickers, fines, and more. 

Crit’air Sticker Categories

The stickers fall into six categories:

  • Green. These stickers are given to fully electric vehicles or any vehicle that doesn’t create emissions. 
  • Purple. Purple certificates are given to hybrid, Euro 5, and Euro 6 petrol cars.
  • Yellow. Yellow stickers go to Euro 4 petrol cars, and Euro 5 and 6 diesel vehicles.
  • Orange. This sticker is given to Euro 2 and Euro 3 petrol cars, and Euro 4 diesel automobiles.
  • Dark Red. This sticker is for Euro 3 diesel vehicles.
  • Dark Blue. Dark blue stickers are only for Euro 2 diesel vehicles.

Why Do Crit’air Stickers Exist?

The French government has always been looking for ways to clean up the air pollution, especially in cities with the most of it. The Crit’air system is a way to regulate which vehicles are allowed in certain areas to reduce harmful emissions. 

As of now, stickers are only required in some cities (Paris, Lyon, Lille, Strasbourg, Toulouse), but the French government plans to add more cities in the near future. Some cities only require Crit’air stickers during certain times but are almost always necessary.

What Are the Fines?

If you’re driving without a Crit’air sticker, you can pay a fine of anywhere between €68 and €135. Since getting a Crit’air sticker is incredibly easy (even for foreigners), there’s no reason to drive without one. You can apply for yours directly on the official Crit’air website or you can use a 3rd party agent who will guide you trough the Crit’Air application process for an extra fee.


Write A Comment